2017 UPCE Triennial Convention


Dear UPCE Colleagues,

The 17th UPCE Triennial Convention was held at the Hilton in Mississauga, Ontario on September 17 to 19. Members from coast to coast met to debate the Union’s direction and elect the next UPCE Executive.

This convention had a special meaning for the UPCE. In 2016, the PSAC celebrated 50 years of solidarity. The PSAC was created in 1966 after the merger of the Civil Service Association and the Civil Service Federation. Similarly, on March 1, 1967, the UPCE, our component, was created after the Railway Mail Clerks joined the PSAC as the Post Office Component. Our component’s name was eventually changed from the Post Office Component to the Union of Postal Communications Employees in 1975. 2017 officially marks 50 years of solidarity!

The following UPCE members from Canada Post and Purolator were elected to the UPCE Executive:

François Paradis (Canada Post), National President

Claudia Labonté (Canada Post), National Vice-President

Joanne Hay (Purolator), National Executive Officer and Alternate Vice-President

Denise Tremblay (Canada Post), National Executive Officer

Jacqueline Gujarati (Canada Post), National Executive Officer

Jennifer Horsley (Purolator), Alternate National Executive Officer

Joey De Lafontaine (Canada Post), Alternate National Executive Officer

Lana Van Bradt (Canada Post), Alternate National Executive Officer


We would like to thank Les Wasiuk and Cindie Smith for their commitment to the Union and their work on the UPCE National Executive.


We will provide additional information, updated bylaws, and updated website Executive profiles in the near future.


In solidarity,

UPCE National Executive


Download a copy of the letter here